Uncategorized

Buying “Likes” on FB

Shortly after I launched my law firm’s FB business page, I got an email from a vendor offering to sell me “Likes” to beef up my page’s presence.  The offer ranged from 500 fans for 10 days for $100 dollars to 10,000 fans for 60 days for $800.

I am not sure what gaining a lot of short-term “likes” does for you.  Seems akin to being the first kid with a drivers license in your high-school class—at first your popularity soars, but then everybody else gets their license and you drop back to your rightful place within the high-school social hierarchy.

Although I am not sold on the concept, I think I understand where the vendor is coming from.  In the online marketing world, eyeballs=buzz and buzz=potential sales.  We all know that “going viral” is every online marketers dream.  But I think the vendor somehow missed the point . . . postings go viral organically (OK, some have “help”) but the items always offer the viewer something of value (entertainment, information, etc.) something just adding “Likes” to your FB page will not do.

So focus first on your content.  If your offer (in services or information) does not add value, the number of “Likes” won’t matter, they won’t translate to sales because your offer is not resonating with your target audience.  Granted, the more links/likes/hits you have, the higher your SEO results.  But I am not sure purchasing short-term friends is the solution.  The better course of action is to actually provide value – in the product or service you offer and the content you post.  This will lead to a loyal, engaged customer base.  Think quality in terms of your audience, not quantity . . . it is far better to attract a small audience that is engaged and in a position to actually purchase your services, than to have a million fans—none of which contribute to your bottom line.

The only time I think that you can make a plausible argument for buying FB “Likes” (and I’m still not sold on the idea) is if you are posting something that you think is absolutely guaranteed to “go viral” and you want to kick-start some buzz . . . even then using the service is dubious, after all if the item you post is as fantastic as you think it is, it’ll “go viral” all on its own (through your normal online marketing efforts).  And, ultimately, you can’t rely on your opinion as to whether content is viral-worthy . . . after all what parent ever admits they have an ugly baby?

I’d love to get feedback on this post.

What do you think about “buying likes”?

For those that offer the service, don’t send me a commercial . . .  provide data to back up the value of the service  (prove me wrong).

For those that have tried it . . . Did it work?  What value did you get from the service?

3 thoughts on “Buying “Likes” on FB

  1. I agree! I do not even pay to “promote” my fb professional page. As with so many things in life, effective outreach is about connecting to people, rather than trying to buy or rent attention or affection from them.

Leave a Reply

